Year 8 & 9 Rugby -v- Sandown Bay Academy

Sandown Bay Academy 42 Christ the King College 10

After victories over Medina and Carisbrooke, the Year 8 & 9 Christ the King College team were well beaten under floodlights away to Sandown Bay Academy on Friday, 13th February. The team battled bravely in difficult conditions and contributed hugely to an entertaining game, but there was no arguing with the final result.

Christ the King College actually played as much creative rugby as their conquerors, but could not match the power and pace of Sandown Bay Academy. More than half of the College team were Year 8s and the physical difference in the teams showed at times. The winners scored four tries in the first half to lead 20-0 and were only foiled of other tries by some determined College defence. On the resumption, Christ the King College were first to score, and would later add a second try courtesy of some great team work and multi-phase play, but Sandown Bay Academy  were well on top and added further scores to secure victory.

Ben Sanderson gave a superb performance and was backs man of the match, while Alex Cole was the pick of the forwards. Despite the defeat, the team enjoyed the experience and were proud of their efforts. They now look forward to the Island Schools 7s Tournament in early March.

Christ the King College: Zach Ward, Sam Woods, Ben Sanderson, Jake Bushnell, Jack Davis, Sol Wood, Ned Guy, Alex Cole, Louis Herbert, Chester Smith, Ben Burnett, Alfie Caporaso-Foster, Jack Turner.


Basketball Tournament

The year 10 and 11 Basketball team played their first basketball fixtures in a tournament held at Carisbrooke College. The team performed really well, narrowly losing to Medina 9-8 and Carisbrooke 14-8. In both games the student came back from losing positions to put pressure on the opponents, however the opposition proved to strong and gain the vital points to claim victory. The player’s showed great character and commitment throughout the event.

The team:
Harvey Stanton, James Dixon, Michael Joyce, Keelan Walsh, Henry Bolton, Uel Breach, Jamie Belcher, Ben Fendyke, Luke Blackman, Sebastian Crouch and Tyler Hobson